

progress. right at home.

#### PLANNING COMMISSION MEETING

The Norfolk Planning Commission of the City of Norfolk conducted a public meeting in the City Council Chambers, 309 N. 5th Street, on the 6th day of June, 2023, beginning at 7:30 a.m.

Roll call found the following Commission Members present: Kayla Ramsay, Chad Bryant, Dirk Waite, Kaycee Kube, Martin Griffith, and Cody Ronnfeldt. Absent: Dan Spray, Brandon Franklin, and Jacob Thone.

Staff members present were: Val Grimes, City Planner; Steven Rames, City Engineer; Anna Allen, Assistant City Engineer; Melissa Figueroa, Business Resource Specialist; Nick Stevenson, Communications Manager; Kylee Soderberg, Administrative Assistant; and Katelyn Palmer, Permits Technician.

Planning Commission Vice-Chair, Dirk Waite presided and the Planning Commission Secretary Elizabeth Lienemann digitally recorded the audio of the proceedings.

Vice-Chair Waite called the meeting to order and informed the public about the location of the current copy of the Open Meetings Act posted in the meeting room and accessible to members of the public.

Notice of the meeting was given in advance thereof by publication in the Norfolk Daily News, Norfolk, Nebraska, the designated method of giving notice, as shown by affidavit of publication.

Notice was given to the Chair and all members of the Commission and a copy of their acknowledgement of receipt of notice and agenda is attached to the minutes. Availability of the agenda was communicated in the advance notice and in the notice to the Chair and Commission of this meeting. All proceedings hereafter shown were taken while the convened meeting was opened to the public.

### **Current Business**

Commissioner Griffith moved, seconded by Commissioner Ronnfeldt to approve the full agenda.

Roll Call: Commission Members: Ayes: Ramsay, Bryant, Waite, Kube, Griffith, and Ronnfeldt. Nays: None. Absent: Spray, Franklin, and Thone. Motion carried (6-0).

Commissioner Griffith moved, seconded by Commissioner Kube to approve the May 16, 2023 meeting minutes with the correction of Vice-Chair Waite's name in a couple areas within the item for the Carter Complex Preliminary Planned Development.



progress. right at home.

309 N 5<sup>th</sup> St Norfolk, NE 68701 P402-844-2280 F402-844-2028 www.norfolkne.gov

Roll Call: Commission Members: Ayes: Ramsay, Bryant, Waite, Kube, Griffith, and Ronnfeldt. Nays: None. Absent: Spray, Franklin, and Thone. Motion carried (6-0).

Resolution No. 2023PC-4
Conditional Use Permit – Mining of sand and gravel
2410 N. Airport Road | Matteo Sand and Gravel Company, Inc.

Vice-Chair Waite read into record the terms of the Conditional Use Permit.

Commissioner Ronnfeldt moved, seconded by Commissioner Griffith to approve Resolution No. 2023PC-4 for a Conditional Use Permit for mining of sand and gravel on property addressed as 2410 N. Airport Road.

Roll Call: Commission Members: Ayes: Ramsay, Bryant, Waite, Kube, Griffith, and Ronnfeldt. Nays: None. Absent: Spray, Franklin, and Thone. Motion carried (6-0).

## **Public Hearings**

# Public Hearing Amendment of the Official City Code Extraterratorial Jurisdiction Map

Vice-Chair Waite opened the public hearing at 7:38 a.m. to consider an amendment to the ETJ map of the City of Norfolk, Nebraska, as authorized by Section 16-902 R.R.S 2012.

City Planner, Val Grimes, explained that the request goes back to the large annexation that was done about a year to a year and a half ago. The ETJ does not automatically extend with the annexation. It took a little longer to prepare for the ETJ expansion because there wasn't accurate mapping available.

Vice-Chair Waite asked if there were any concerns about the properties being brought into City zoning. Planner Grimes explained the County zoning equivalents and the zoning properties would be brought into.

No one spoke in favor or opposition of the request and Vice-Chair Waite closed the public hearing at 7:42 a.m.

Commissioner Ronnfeldt moved, seconded by Commissioner Kube to recommend approval of an amendment to ETJ map of the City of Norfolk, Nebraska, as authorized by Section 16-902 R.R.S 2012.



progress. right at home.

309 N 5<sup>th</sup> St Norfolk, NE 68701 P402-844-2280 F402-844-2028 www.norfolkne.gov

Roll Call: Commission Members: Ayes: Ramsay, Bryant, Waite, Kube, Griffith, and Ronnfeldt. Nays: None. Absent: Spray, Franklin, and Thone. Motion carried (6-0).

#### **Other Business**

Commissioner Griffith moved, seconded by Commissioner Bryant to recommend approval of Katelyn Palmer as Planning Commission Secretary pro tem effective June 21, 2023.

Roll Call: Commission Members: Ayes: Ramsay, Bryant, Waite, Kube, Griffith, and Ronnfeldt. Nays: None. Absent: Spray, Franklin, and Thone. Motion carried (6-0).

There was no other discussion and Vice-Chair Waite declared the meeting adjourned at 7:44 a.m.

Elizabeth Lienemann, Norfolk Planning Commission Secretary

Dirk Waite, Norfolk Planning Commission Vice-Chair