

PLANNING COMMISSION MEETING

The Norfolk Planning Commission of the City of Norfolk conducted a public meeting in the City Council Chambers, 309 N. 5th Street, on the 5th day of July, 2023, beginning at 7:30 a.m.

Roll call found the following Commission Members present: Kayla Ramsay, Brandon Franklin, Dirk Waite, Kaycee Kube, and Martin Griffith. Absent: Dan Spray, Chad Bryant, Jordan Mason, and Cody Ronnfeldt.

Staff members present were: Valerie Grimes, City Planner; Anna Allen, Assistant City Engineer; Dean Roberg, Engineering Aide III, and Katelyn Palmer, Permits Technician.

Planning Commission Vice-Chair, Dirk Waite presided and the Planning Commission Secretary Elizabeth Lienemann digitally recorded the audio of the proceedings.

Vice-Chair Waite called the meeting to order and informed the public about the location of the current copy of the Open Meetings Act posted in the meeting room and accessible to members of the public.

Notice of the meeting was given in advance thereof by publication in the Norfolk Daily News, Norfolk, Nebraska, the designated method of giving notice, as shown by affidavit of publication.

Notice was given to the Chair and all members of the Commission and a copy of their acknowledgement of receipt of notice and agenda is attached to the minutes. Availability of the agenda was communicated in the advance notice and in the notice to the Chair and Commission of this meeting. All proceedings hereafter shown were taken while the convened meeting was opened to the public.

Current Business

Commissioner Griffith moved, seconded by Commissioner Kube to approve the full agenda.

Roll Call: Commission Members: Ayes: Ramsay, Waite, Franklin, Kube, and Griffith. Nays: None. Absent: Spray, Bryant, Thone, and Ronnfeldt. Motion carried (5-0).

Commissioner Kube moved, seconded by Commissioner Franklin to approve the June 6, 2023 meeting minutes.

Roll Call: Commission Members: Ayes: Ramsay, Waite, Franklin, Kube, and Griffith. Nays: None. Absent: Spray, Bryant, Thone, and Ronnfeldt. Motion carried (5-0).



Public Hearings

Public Hearing Conditional Use Permit - Storage & warehousing of non-hazardous material 1906 W Omaha Ave | PAL Properties, LLC

Vice-Chair Waite opened the public hearing at 7:31 a.m. to consider a Conditional Use Permit for storage and warehousing of nonhazardous products on property generally located at 1906 W Omaha Ave.

City Planner, Valerie Grimes, explained there is no longer a house on the property, and that the applicant is wanting to do storage units. It's currently zoned C-3 and is also located in the Highway Corridor Overlay District. The applicant decided to apply for a Conditional Use Permit, to cover both the Zone Change and Highway Corridor Overly.

Commissioner Griffith asked what the Comp Plan shows. Planner Grimes verified it showed Industrial.

Hollie Frye, Vulcraft, questioned if they were going to be containership style or building style, and expressed concerns about materials in units leaking or spilling into storm water. Vice-Chair Waite confirmed they will be non-hazardous materials and that would be in violation of the CUP. Planner Grimes confirmed no gas, oil, etc., would be stored there.

JJ Snodgrass, Vulcraft, questioned the traffic flow. Planner Grimes reassured it will not lead to extra traffic flow, as they are only personal storage units. Snodgrass also asked about the layout of the buildings; Planner Grimes said a Site Plan was not included. Snodgrass questioned the CUP process, in which Planner Grimes explained that.

No one else spoke in favor or opposition of the request and Vice-Chair Waite closed the public hearing at 7:38 a.m.

Commissioner Griffith moved, seconded by Commissioner Kube to have City staff prepare a Conditional Use Permit for discussion and action at the next regularly scheduled Planning Commission meeting.

Roll Call: Commission Members: Ayes: Ramsay, Waite, Franklin, Kube, and Griffith. Nays: None. Absent: Spray, Bryant, Thone, and Ronnfeldt. Motion carried (5-0).

Other Business

City Planner Valerie Grimes presented the May 2023 Building Permit Report.



There was no other discussion and Vice-Chair Waite declared the meeting adjourned at 7:50 a.m.

Helin Palmer

Katelyn Palmer, Norfolk Pro Tem Planning Commission Secretary

Dirk Waite, Norfolk Planning Commission Vice-Chair