

## PLANNING COMMISSION MEETING

The Norfolk Planning Commission of the City of Norfolk conducted a public meeting in the City Council Chambers, 309 N. 5th Street, on the 19th day of December 2023, beginning at 7:30 a.m.

Roll call found the following Commission Members present: Jill Sock, Chad Bryant, Brandon Franklin, Kaycee Kube, Martin Griffith, Jordan Mason and Cody Ronnfeldt. Absent: Dan Spray and Dirk Waite

Staff members present were: Valerie Grimes, City Planner; Steve Rames, City Engineer, Anna Allen, Assistant City Engineer; Sarah Wortmann, Planning Commission Secretary; and Katelyn Palmer, Permits Technician.

Secretary Wortmann called the meeting to order and informed the public about the location of the current copy of the Open Meetings Act posted in the meeting room and accessible to members of the public.

In absence of the Chair and Vice Chair, Secretary Sarah Wortmann asked for nominations for Acting Chair pro tem to preside over the meeting.

Acting Chair pro tem Brandon Franklin presided, and the Planning Commission Secretary Sarah Wortmann digitally recorded the audio of the proceedings.

Notice of the meeting was given in advance thereof by publication in the Norfolk Daily News, Norfolk, Nebraska, the designated method of giving notice, as shown by affidavit of publication.

Notice was given to the Chair and all members of the Commission and a copy of their acknowledgement of receipt of notice and agenda is attached to the minutes. Availability of the agenda was communicated in advance notice and in the notice to the Chair and Commission of this meeting. All proceedings hereafter shown were taken while the convened meeting was opened to the public.

#### **Current Business**

Commissioner Ronnfeldt moved, seconded by Commissioner Griffith to elect Commissioner Franklin as Acting Chair pro tem.

Commissioner Griffith moved, seconded by Commissioner Kube to approve the full agenda.

Roll Call: Commission Members: Ayes: Sock, Bryant, Franklin, Kube, Griffith, Mason and Ronnfeldt. Absent: Spray and Waite (7-0).



Commissioner Kube moved, seconded by Commissioner Ronnfeldt to approve the December 5, 2023, meeting minutes.

Roll Call: Commission Members: Ayes: Sock, Bryant, Franklin, Kube, Griffith, Mason and Ronnfeldt. Absent: Spray and Waite (7-0).

### **Public Hearings**

Public Hearing Zoning Change – A to C-1 <sup>1</sup>/<sub>2</sub> Mile West of South 37<sup>th</sup> St. & South of North Airport Road Robert A. Uecker, Trustee of Richard Uecker Trust

Acting Chair pro tem Franklin opened the public hearing at 7:33 a.m. to consider a zoning change from A (Agricultural District) to C-1 (Local Business District) on property generally located ½ mile west of south 37<sup>th</sup> St. and south of North Airport Rd.

Val Grimes, City Planner, explained the zone change request was changed from A (Agricultural District) to I-1 (Light Industrial District) to A (Agricultural District) to C-1 (Local Business District) because C-1 is a less intense zoning district with a Conditional Use Permit for storage units. Grimes stated there is commercial and industrial zoning along North Airport Road to the west.

Commissioner Ronnfeldt asked if C-1 zoning would match with the comprehensive plan. Grimes stated yes.

Robert Uecker explained he plans to rent out storage buildings to a local company to store their vehicles and will rent the grain bins to a local feed lot. Uecker stated the vehicles will not increase traffic in the area and will be parked inside a storage building.

Gene Timperley spoke on behalf of Lori Hahn, neighbor, and asked why the area needed to be rezoned. Grimes answered AG zone requires the land to be forty acres, but the re-plat only includes six to seven acres.

Richard Christensen, neighbor, asked Uecker if he would do anything with the in-row. Uecker answered he would keep the in-row gravel and will install a gate at the entrance, along with a fence to maintain the perimeter.

No one else spoke in favor or opposition of the request and Chair pro tem Franklin closed the public hearing at 7:45 a.m.

Commissioner Ronnfeldt moved, seconded by Commissioner Mason to recommend approval of a zoning change from A to C-1 on property generally located ½ mile west of south 37<sup>th</sup> street and south of North Airport road.



Roll Call: Commission Members: Ayes: Sock, Bryant, Franklin, Kube, Griffith, Mason and Ronnfeldt. Absent: Spray and Waite (7-0).

Public Hearing

Conditional Use Permit – Storage and Warehousing of nonhazardous products <sup>1</sup>/<sub>2</sub> Mile West of South 37<sup>th</sup> St. & South of North Airport Road Robert A. Uecker, Trustee of Richard Uecker Trust

Acting Chair pro tem Franklin opened the public hearing at 7:46 a.m. to consider a Conditional Use Permit for storage and warehousing of nonhazardous products on property generally located <sup>1</sup>/<sub>2</sub> mile west of south 37<sup>th</sup> St. and south of North Airport Rd.

Robert Uecker, Applicant, explained he will use the existing structures for inside storage, and he does not plan to build any more.

No one else spoke in favor or opposition of the request and Chair pro tem Franklin closed the public hearing at 7:53 a.m.

Commissioner Ronnfeldt moved, seconded by Commissioner Bryant to have City Staff prepare a Conditional Use Permit for discussion and action at the next regularly scheduled Planning Commission meeting for storage and warehousing of nonhazardous products on property generally located <sup>1</sup>/<sub>2</sub> mile west of south 37<sup>th</sup> St. and south of North Airport Road, with the added conditions of inside storage only, no hazardous materials, no living quarters, no commercial use, along with personal privilege for 10 years.

Roll Call: Commission Members: Ayes: Sock, Bryant, Franklin, Kube, Griffith, Mason and Ronnfeldt. Absent: Spray and Waite (7-0).

### Plats/Subdivisions

# Robert A. Uecker's Addition

Commissioner Griffith asked Grimes if there was any concern with the Plat. Grimes had no concerns.

Commissioner Griffith moved, seconded by Kube to recommend approval of the Robert A. Uecker's final plat.

Roll Call: Commission Members: Ayes: Sock, Bryant, Franklin, Kube, Griffith, Mason and Ronnfeldt. Absent: Spray and Waite (7-0).



### **Other Business**

City Planner Grimes presented the November 2023 Building Permit Report.

There was no other discussion and Chair pro tem Franklin declared the meeting adjourned at 7:56 a.m.

Wottmann

Sarah Wortmann, Planning Commission Secretary

Brandon Franklin, Norfolk Planning Commission Acting Chair pro tem