Communications Office

Two City Divisions Awarded for Safety Practices

Earlier last fall, the City of Norfolk Water Treatment/Sewer and Water Pollution Control Divisions were recognized and awarded at conferences in Kearney for their safety practices.

The Norfolk Water Treatment Plant prides itself in providing safe, clean drinking water for the citizens of Norfolk. Due to the continued improvement in the field of safety based on accidents, prevention, and training, the Water/Sewer Division received the Nebraska Section American Water Works Association (AWWA) Safety Award during the AWWA Conference.

“The best thing about receiving this award is the fact that it’s a team award,” said Water Treatment Plant Supervisor, Chad Roberts.

The Water Pollution Control (WPC) Plant began its existence in 1959 with the construction of Norfolk’s first wastewater treatment facility. At that time, the City was generating 1.0 million gallons of wastewater per day. Currently, the WPC receives 3.5 million gallons of wastewater per day.

The WPC Plant received the Silver Safety Award at the annual Water Environment Federation (WEF) Conference in Kearney. The purpose of the award is to encourage active and effective safety programs in the water environment field, and to recognize entities that not only invest their resources to develop high-quality safety programs and adopt them within their own culture, but also actively seek out opportunities to share these programs with others in the water industry for the benefit of all.

 West Water Treatment Plant Staff with 2019 Safety Award.  

Water Treatment Plant staff pictured from left to right: John Witt; Todd Roberts; Dennis Watts; Shirley Halsey; Brad Doffin; and Chad Roberts

Water Division Staff pictured with 2019 Safety Award.

Water Division staff pictured from left to right: (back) David Hasebroock; Doug Tennant; Toby Konopasek; Jim Wichman; Brian Hamik; Jerry Halsey; and Dennis Watts

(front) Ron Nitz and Byron Wylie

WPC Staff pictured with 2019 Safety Award

Water Pollution Control staff pictured from left to right: Twyla Hurlburt; Kevin Endorf; Lonnie Tucker; Tom Schwedhelm; Travis Kollath; and Rob Huntley

Not pictured: Zach Behnke, Marsha Louthan, and Jesse Smith