Fire Division

Fire Chiefs of Norfolk, NE

The Norfolk Fire Department was organized in 1884.  Since that time, 22 men have served Norfolk as fire chief.  The first paid chief was Rudy Wolff, who became full time in 1946.  Past fire chiefs of the Norfolk Fire Department are as listed below.

Chief Date
Tim Wragge 2021-
 Scott C Cordes 2011-2021
Shane G Weidner 1996-2011
Michael V Smythe 1994-1996
William T Malone 1991-1993
Larry J Reeves 1970-1991
Fred J (Chic) Bussey 1960-1970
Rudolph H Wollf (first paid chief) 1936-1959
John F Boehnke 1924-1936
Venus A Nenow 1915-1924
Millard R Green 1910-1915
Ed Mullen 1909-1910
Ed Conley 1909-1909
John Krantz 1908-1909
Charles Pilger 1907-1909
William P Mc Cune 1906-1907
 Samuel R McFarlane 1905-1906
William L Kern 1904-1905
Herman W Winter 1898-1904
John W Edwards 1895-1904
Joseph J Clemments 1894-1895
Charles E Doughty 1890-1894
William H Widaman 1884-1890