Administration

Boards and Commissions

The various advisory boards and commissions are an important component of the City government.  If you are interested in serving on an advisory board or commission, fill out and print the online application, or pickup an application at the City Administrator's office, 309 N 5th St., Norfolk, Nebraska 68701.

Board of Zoning Adjustment

The Board of Adjustment consists of five members appointed by the Mayor and approved by the Council. Board members are appointed for a three-year term. Meetings of the Board are held at the call of the chairperson and at such times as the Board may determine necessary. The Board of Adjustment renders decisions only on appeals from an action of the Building Inspector, when it has determined that a permit has been issued incorrectly or denied, zoning regulations have been enforced or interpreted incorrectly, or when the appellant proves undue and unnecessary hardship due to a provision applied to a specific lot or tract. The Board of Adjustment is governed by the Revised Statutes of Nebraska. Current board members are:

Name Address Phone Email Term Expires
Waite, Dirk 2101 Sheridan Dr 605-380-6147 dcwaite23@gmail.com 8-2024
Love, Brad -- Vice-Chairman 108 W Norfolk Ave  #204 402-379-2339 bradl@lovesignco.com 8-2026
Stahla, Ray (2-mile jurisdiction) 5200 W Benjamin Ave 402-640-6194 raystahla@stahlahomes.com 8-2025
Lammli, Jason -- Chairman 2208 W Prospect Ave 402-644-7242 jlammli@broganlammli.com 8-2025
Joy, Michael (alternate) 610 Magnet St 402-841-9444 firemanjoy@hotmail.com 8-2026
Wilcox, Randy 2802 Mimick Dr 402-750-3977 rlwilcox@telebeep.com 8-2024
 (Secretary) 309 N 5th St 402-844-2065    

Board of Health

The Board of Health shall consist of five (5) members and shall be composed of the Mayor, President of the City Council, Chief of Police, City Physician and one other member. 

Name Address Phone Email Term Expires
Moenning, Josh 1202 W Norfolk Ave 402-580-2471 jmoenning@norfolkne.gov N/A
Clausen, Shane 407 Ridgeway Dr 402-750-2796 sclausen@norfolkne.gov N/A
Miller, Don 201 N 7th St 402-844-2150 dmiller@norfolkne.gov N/A
Yosten, Lisa 2700 W Norfolk Ave 402-371-4880 jlyosten@cableone.net N/A
Nordby, Kathy 302 Phillip Ave 402-371-8000 knordby@midtownhealthne.org N/A

Building Code Appeals/Property Maintenance Board of Appeals

The Board consists of five members appointed by the Mayor and City Council who serve for a five-year term. The Building Inspector is a non-voting ex officio member and acts as secretary to the Board. Each member must be a licensed, professional engineer or architect, or a builder or superintendent of building construction with at least ten years experience, for five years of which that board member shall have been in reasonable charge of work; there must not be more than two members of the board selected from the same profession or business; and at least one of the professional engineers must be a licensed, structural or civil engineer of architectural engineering experience. The Board is legally empowered to hold hearings and to conduct investigations into disputes between the building officials and members of the public, and pass judgment on matters in which the exercise of discretion is legal. Current board members are:

Name Address Phone Email Term Expires
Machuca, Ignacio 2600 Crestview Rd 402-750-1043 iandpconstruction@outlook.com 2-2029
Hofmann, Dan (alternate) 814 S 3rd St 402-371-7020 sdhofmann@telebeep.com 2-2029
Johnson, Mark 2703 N 25th St 402-649-4597 mblaljohnson@msn.com 2-2027
Swanson, Les 904 Koenigstein Ave 402-379-1915 lswanson@conpoint.com 2-2028
Wenzl, Larry 1404 Longhorn Dr 402-371-2494 larry.wenzl@nucor.com 2-2025
Wolfe, Terry 1511 N 30th St 402-379-2753 wchterry88@gmail.com 2-2027
Lyon, Tim (alternate) 3403 Rolling Hills Dr 402-379-2376 ttlyon1215@gmail.com 2-2025
(Secretary) 309 N 5th St 402-844-2065    

Citizen Advisory Review Committee

3 year terms

Name Address Phone Email Term Expires
Means, Kathie 1002 Eldorado Rd 402-371-3355 kathiemeans@remax.net 10-31-2025
Einspahr, Jan 601 S 13th St 402-371-3140 janetleinspahr@gmail.com 10-31-2025
Day, Brandon  1500 Riverside Blvd 402-379-1440 bday@daycos.com 10-31-2025
Morrow, Cindy 1307 N 30th St 402-379-0721 ddcjmorrow@outlook.com 10-31-2025
Otten, Aaron 1624 Hackberry Dr 719-459-0064 aaron@elkhornvalleybank.com 10-31-2025

Civil Service Commission

The Commission is composed of three persons appointed by the Mayor for six-year terms. Members are vested with the responsibility to recruit, examine competitively and recommend to the hiring authority the appointment, employment and promotion of sworn police and fire personnel. The Commission also serves as an appeal board for all disciplinary action involving police and fire. Current commission members are:

Name Address Phone Email Term Expires
 Hansen, Susan 1015 N 6th St #B 402-371-3868 susanhansen57@gmail.com 04-2028
 Brooks, Brad 2204 Highland Dr 402-649-5512 bbrooksie1948@gmail.com 01-2029
 Joy, Mike 610 Magnet St 402-841-9444 firemanjoy@hotmail.com 12-2029

Fire Code Appeals Board

The appeals board will hear and decide appeals of orders, decisions or determinations made by the fire code official relative to the application and interpretation of the code. The board of appeals shall consist of members who are qualified by experience and training to pass on matters pertaining to hazards of fire, explosions, hazardous conditions or fire protection systems and are not employees of the jurisdiction. The Fire Code Board of Appeals shall consist of 5 members and 1 alternate person.

Name Address Phone Email Term Expires
 Wemhoff, Curtis 2915 Marconnit Circle 402-860-2634 curtw@carhartlumber.com 2-2025
 Grimes, Johns 1216 W Nebraska Ave 402-370-1502 johngrimes4@icloud.com 2-2029
 Joy, Mike 610 Magnet St 402-649-7020 firemanjoy@hotmail.com 2-2026
 Sears, Mark 401 Ridgeway Dr 402-644-7655 msears@frhs.org 2-2028
Swanson, Les 904 Koenigstein Ave 605-595-3498 lswanson@conpoint.com 2-2027
Zaruba, Scott (alternate) 2801 Ruthann Cir 402-371-7195 scott.zaruba@blackhillscorp.com 2-2024
Wortmann, Sarah (Secretary) 309 N 5th St 402-844-2065 swortmann@norfolkne.gov  

Housing Agency Board

The Norfolk Housing Agency (NHA) Board consists of seven members, who are appointed by the Mayor. Each member is appointed a five-year term in office. One member of the Board also serves on the City Council. In addition to providing rental assistance for low-income persons, families and individuals with disabilities, the Housing Agency Board supervises Boulevard Village, the Kensington Apartments, Meadow Ridge Estates, Royal Oaks Estates, as well as private sector rentals. The Board also assists local landlords who offer low-income housing. Current board members are:

Name Address Phone Email Term Expires
Geiger, Nicolette 1803 Carmel Dr 402-750-8433 ngeiger20@gmail.com 6-2027
Knapp, Justine,  Sec/Treas 301 Broadmoor Dr 402-992-1542 justinemundorf@gmail.com 6-2026
Higginbotham, Thomas Jr, Chair 1404 Eldorado Rd 402-992-9407 thomas8769@icloud.com 6-2024
Dorado, Roberto Jr 1206 E Sycamore Ave 402-316-0309 icolts@live.com 6-2028
Carstens, Annette 900 N 10th St #4 402-992-5817 annettecarstensalex@gmail.com 6-2024
Murren, Thad, Vice-Chair 600 E Bluff Ave 402-379-9512 tmurren@norfolkne.gov 6-2025
Todd, Ian 1002 Blue Stem Cir 402-276-3660 itodd@libertycentreservices.com 6-2025
Danielle Myers-Noelle, City Attorney 202 N 7th St 402-644-8732 dnoelle@norfolkne.gov  

Library Advisory Board

The Library Advisory Board consists of five members. Each member is appointed for a five year term. The Board members are appointed by the Mayor and approved by the City Council. The Library Advisory Board advises the Mayor and City Council in regard to the operation, maintenance, and development of the public library. Current board members are:

Name Address Phone Email Term Expires
Bogner, Kurt 1630 Hackberry Dr 402-750-1253 BAFezziwig@gmail.com 7-2025
McKay, Elizabeth 1107 Terrace Rd 402-860-9505 ljmckay@gmail.com 7-2026
Colligan, Susan 1000 Kelland Dr 402-379-5601 scolligan@clnorfolk.org 7-2024
Porn, Brian 1219 W Prospect Ave 402-841-5315 bporn1@gmail.com 7-2027
Dover, Jr., Tom 2201 Skyline Dr 402-371-6760 thomasdoverjr@doversite.com 7-2028

Parks and Recreation Board

The Parks and Recreation Board shall consist of nine members who shall be residents of the City of Norfolk. The members of the parks and rec board shall be appointed by the Mayor with the approval of City Council. The Mayor and City Council shall strive to have at least one representative from each ward serve on the parks and rec board, if possible. No more than three members from private sports associations shall serve on the board at any given time. At least one representative from the City Council will sit on the Parks and Recreation Board in a nonvoting position and is not counted as one of the nine members. The term of office of three of the members appointed to the first Parks and Recreation Board shall be for one year, the term of office of three of the members appointed shall be two years and the term of three of the members appointed shall be three years, with the computation of the same being from the preceding January.

Name Address Phone Email Term Expires
Dover, Ann 3211 Dover Dr 402-649-7600 anndover@doversite.com 1-2027
Rasmussen, Terry 1206 N 27th St 402-750-0012 terry@terryras.com 1-2027
Bailey, Angie 212 S 15th St 402-500-9430 angela.n.bailey@gmail.com 1-2027
Mills, Jerrett 1010 S 4th St 402-750-1372 jjmills1994@hotmail.com 1-2025
Tollefson, Jason 1408 Verges Ave 402-817-8941 tollefson_jason@yahoo.com 1-2025
Wulf, Becki 902 S Pine St 402-640-4573 beckiwulf@gmail.com 1-2025
Gerhart, Patrick 3006 Dover Dr 402-321-8332 patrick.gerhart@gmail.com 1-2026
Truex, Austin 1002 N 7th St 402-851-1970 austinjtruex@gmail.com 1-2026
Temple, Melissa 403 W Norfolk Ave #201 765-278-5172 melissa.c.temple@gmail.com 1-2026

Planning Commission

The Norfolk Planning Commission consists of nine members appointed by the Mayor with the approval of 3/4 of the City Council and serve for three years. Two such members may be residents of the two-mile extraterritorial zoning jurisdiction. The Commission evaluates information from staff and testimony in hearings, and makes recommendations to guide Council action. Commissioners make recommendations only. The Commission and City Council work with a Comprehensive Plan as a guideline for the growth of the City and its jurisdiction. Meetings, which may include public hearings, are held the Tuesday following the City Council meeting, 7:30 a.m. at the City Council Chambers. All meetings are advertised and open to the public. Current commission members are:

Name Address Phone Email Term Expires
Bryant, Chad 2512 Westside Ave 402-992-7702 cbryant@clnorfolk.org 2-2025
Waite, Dirk 203 Harris Dr 605-380-6147 dcwaite23@gmail.com 2-2027
Ronnfeldt, Cody 307 Windsor Dr 402-371-0780 cody@wjag.com 2-2026
Griffith, Martin 408 S 4th St 402-379-2196 magriffith@cableone.com 2-2025
Franklin, Brandon 1205 Sunnydell Ln  515-745-5848 brandon5455@outlook.com 2-2027
Sock, Jill 500 Andy's N. Shore Dr 402-841-4713 jsock@heritage-communities.com 2-2027
Mason, Jordan 1904 Mulberry Dr 402-953-9394 jmason013@yahoo.com 2-2026
Kube, Kaycee 900 Blue Stem Cir 402-992-9401 kayceenkube@gmail.com 2-2026
Hupke, Colleen 1708 Hilltop Dr 813-399-2343 colleenhupke@gmail.com 2-2025
Wortmann, Sarah
Planning Commission Secretary
309 N 5th St 402-844-2008    

Plumbing Board

The Plumbing Board, appointed by the Mayor and City Council, consists of the following five members; the City plumbing inspector, the City health inspector, a master plumber, a journeyman plumber and one citizen. The health and plumbing inspectors serve during the term of the Mayor. The other three board members serve three-year terms. The board has the power to adopt rules and regulations for the sanitary construction, alteration and inspection of plumbing and sewer connections in Norfolk, and conducts examinations and approves permits for people who apply to do business as plumbers in Norfolk. Current board members are:

Name Address Phone Email Term Expires
Swanson, Les Chairman 904 Koenigstein Ave 402-379-1915 lswanson@conpoint.com 8-2025
Volkman, Aaron 211 S 3rd St 402-371-0316 vphavolkman@conpoint.com 8-2024
Swoboda, Roy       8-2026
         
City Staff Members - term of mayor        
         
 Serres, Paul 109 Valley View Dr 402-640-3456 pserres@norfolkne.gov  

Property Tax Compliance Review Committee

Members are appointed by the Mayor, with approval of the City Council, and serve a three-year term. One member of the Committee is from the City at-large and one member from each of the City's four election wards. One member of the Committee shall be a Certified Public Accountant. The purpose of the Sales Tax Compliance Review Committee is to review the City's annual fiscal budget for compliance with the provisions of Ordinance No. 3257, passed and approved on Oct. 15, 1984, which provided for a self-imposed budget limitation on spending upon the governing body of the City of Norfolk. The Committee, after review of the annual fiscal budget, is to report their findings to the Mayor and City Council and citizens of the City prior to the adoption of the City's annual fiscal budget each year. Current committee members are:

Name Address Phone Email Term Expires
Albin, Mark D 604 Summit St 402-371-9259 mark@albinlaw.com 8-2026
Gray, Chris 1704 E Sycamore Ave 402-851-0727 cgray@fsbdodge.com 8-2026
Hamm, David 1220 W Benjamin Ave 402-644-8308 dwhamm@kdsi.net 8-2026
Putters, Jay 701 E Bluff Ave 402-371-5520 jayputters43@gmail.com 8-2026
Williams, Scott 1111 W Nebraska Ave 402-371-8020 scott@insuranceassociates.biz 8-2026

Public Arts Council

The Public Arts Council consists of five members appointed by the Mayor and approved by the City Council, each serving a three-year term. A representative from the city  will sit on the Arts Council in a nonvoting position. At least four regular meetings shall be held annually. It is the responsibility of the Arts Council to advise the mayor and city council of potential arts programs and activities pertinent to the city; notify the city representative on the Arts Council and make recommendations regarding potential arts programs and activities; review and make recommendations for art considered for placement on city-owned property; and research grants, programs and other activities pertaining to enhancement of the arts to the city. Current members are:

Name Address Phone Email Term Expires
Collins, Ben 704 N 19th St 402-649-7557 benlvicollins@gmail.com 11-30-2025
Einspahr, Jan 1108 N 36th St 402-649-3914 janetleinspahr@gmail.com 02-28-2027
vacant       11-30-2023
Pflueger, Paula 1811 Koenigstein Ave 402-750-6021 paula.pflueger@edwardjones.com 11-30-2024
Engelby, Janie 312 S 11th St 402-649-1188 janie.engelby@hilton.com 11-30-2024

Arens, Frank

(non-voting member)

1104 N 27th St 42-750-6098 farens@norfolkne.gov  

Riverfront Overlay Review Board

The Riverfront Overlay Review Board consists of nine members appointed by the Mayor and approved by the Council, and serve a three-year term. The City Planner is a non-voting ex officio member and acts as secretary to the Board. The Riverfront Overlay Review Board renders decisions only on plans for those properties within the official North Fork of the Elkhorn River Overlay District Map. The Riverfront Overlay Review Board meetings are held on the 2nd Monday of the month, only when a submittal has been made in the timeframe described in Norfolk City Code. Current board members are:

Name Address Phone Email Term Expires
Vacant       1-31-2026
Love, Brad 108 W Norfolk Ave  #2 402.917.4674 bradl@lovesignco.com 1-31-2024
Novacek, Darrel 1301 Eldorado Rd 402.649.3353 darrel_novacek@yahoo.com 1-31-2024
Vacant       1-31-2025
Vacant       1-31-2026
         
         
         
         

Trail Advisory Board

There are five voting members on this board - one from each ward and one from the extraterritorial zoning jurisdiction. The City park superintendent and a Lower Elkhorn Natural Resources District member also serve on the board. The voting members have three-year terms. Responsibilities include advising the Mayor and City Council in development and implementation of trail policies, encourage public usage of the trail system, assist in applying for trail grants and fundraising, and make recommendation for trail projects. Current board members are:

Name Address Phone Email Term Expires
Downey, Jon
(Ward 2)
2606 W Prospect Ave 402-316-4917 jon.m.downey@gmail.com 9-2021
Cleveland, Nick
(extra territorial zoning jurisdiction)
1207 Crown Rd 402-371-8005 nick@cleveland-bike.com 9-2020
McKeown, Danelle
(Ward 4)
103 S Chestnut St 402-640-5982 danelle@daycos.com 9-2022
Stuthman, Jon (Tony)
(Ward 3)
613 S 9th St 402-316-0157 nforkoutfitting@gmail.com 9-2022
Vacant
(Ward 1)
      9-2021
Vacant
(non-voting member)
      12-2020

Tree Advisory Board

Members are chosen at-large for a three-year term and appointed by the Mayor, with approval of the City Council, to advise the elected officials and staff on landscaping and tree planting. The board’s duties would be coordinate educational events about the benefits of trees, set up pruning demonstrations, assist with public information handouts, assist in finding and applying for tree planting or landscaping grants, offer input and make recommendations for tree planting and landscaping projects in the city, serve as advocates for tree planting and maintenance, and assist in supplying volunteers for tree and shrub planting projects. Current board members are:

Name Address Phone Email Term Expires
Stewart, Todd Meadow Grove 402-371-7313 tstewart@lenrd.org 9-2023
Bush, Trentee 1504 W Benjamin Ave 402-613-3159 trentee@norrtheast.edu 9-2025
Sweeney, Georgette 1004 Blue Stem Cirlce 402-860-0618 9-2026
Atwood, Lonn 921 Woodhurst Dr 402-841-2292 nolloatwood@yahoo.com 9-2025
Kucera, Erin Pilger 402-469-1599 erink@northeast.edu 9-2026
Vacant       9-2025
Hammond, Linda 1822 Imperial Rd 402-371-2249 mikehammond756@gmail.com 9-2024

Vehicle Parking District Advisory Board

3 year terms

Name Address Phone Email Term Expires
Geary, Connie 200 W Norfolk Ave 402-379-1820 cgeary@degdaco.com 2-2024
Bates, Stephanie 510 W Park Ave 402-750-5302 sbates@norfolkdailynews.com 2-2024
Kaczor, Tracy 50622 852nd Rd, Ewing 402-394-1933 shessmitten@yahoo.com 1-2026
Stebbing, Douglas 128 S 5th St 402-640-0365 doug.stebbing@gmail.com 2-2024
Nuno, Jose 501 David Cir 402-315-7538 j.juno@nebraskahw.com 1-2026
McNally, Steven (alternate) 435 W Norfolk Ave 402-371-3176 smcnally@1officesolution.com 2-2024
Carney, Pat (alternate) 109 S 5th St 402-379-5600 pat@carneylawpc.com 2-2024
Williams, Scott (ex-officio)