Administration

Boards and Commissions

The various advisory boards and commissions are an important component of the City government.  If you are interested in serving on an advisory board or commission, fill out and print the online application, or pickup an application at the City Administrator's office, 309 N 5th St., Norfolk, Nebraska 68701.

Board of Zoning Adjustment

The Board of Adjustment consists of five members appointed by the Mayor and approved by the Council. Board members are appointed for a three-year term. Meetings of the Board are held at the call of the chairperson and at such times as the Board may determine necessary. The Board of Adjustment renders decisions only on appeals from an action of the Building Inspector, when it has determined that a permit has been issued incorrectly or denied, zoning regulations have been enforced or interpreted incorrectly, or when the appellant proves undue and unnecessary hardship due to a provision applied to a specific lot or tract. The Board of Adjustment is governed by the Revised Statutes of Nebraska. Board of Adjustment hearings are held on the last Wednesday of the month at 4:00 p.m. Current board members are:

Name Address Phone Email Term Expires
Spray, Dan 1005 Woodcrest St 402-750-7072 dan.spray@gmail.com 8-2021
Love, Brad -- Vice-Chairman 108 W Norfolk Ave  #204 402-379-2339 bradl@lovesignco.com 8-2020
Haase, Sue (2-mile jurisdiction) 1310 W Norfolk Ave  #B 402-649-0115 sue@amtitleandescrow.com 8-2022
Lammli, Jason -- Chairman 2208 W Prospect Ave 402-644-7242 jlammli@frhs.org 8-2022
Skaff, Tom (alternate) 2111 Skyline Dr 402-370-3120 taskaff@nppd.com 8-2020
Wilcox, Randy 2802 Mimick Dr 402-750-3977 rlwilcox@telebeep.com 8-2021
Jen Olson (Secretary) 309 N 5th St 402-844-2065 jolson@norfolkne.gov  

Building Code Appeals/Property Maintenance Board of Appeals

The Board consists of five members appointed by the Mayor and City Council who serve for a five-year term. The Building Inspector is a non-voting ex officio member and acts as secretary to the Board. Each member must be a licensed, professional engineer or architect, or a builder or superintendent of building construction with at least ten years experience, for five years of which that board member shall have been in reasonable charge of work; there must not be more than two members of the board selected from the same profession or business; and at least one of the professional engineers must be a licensed, structural or civil engineer of architectural engineering experience. The Board is legally empowered to hold hearings and to conduct investigations into disputes between the building officials and members of the public, and pass judgment on matters in which the exercise of discretion is legal. Current board members are:

Name Address Phone Email Term Expires
Machuca, Ignacio 2600 Crestview Rd 402-750-1043 iandpconstruction@outlook.com 2-2024
Hofmann, Dan (alternate) 814 S 3rd St 402-371-7020 sdhofmann@telebeep.com 2-2024
Johnson, Mark 2703 N 25th St 402-649-4597 mblaljohnson@msn.com 2-2022
Swanson, Les 904 Koenigstein Ave 402-379-1915 lswanson@conpoint.com 2-2023
Wenzl, Larry 1404 Longhorn Dr 402-371-2494 larry.wenzl@nucor.com 2-2020
Wolfe, Terry 1511 N 30th St 402-379-2753 wchterry88@gmail.com 2-2022
Lyon, Tim (alternate) 3403 Rolling Hills Dr 402-379-2376 ttlyon@cableone.net 2-2020
Jen Olson (Secretary) 309 N 5th St 402-844-2065 jolson@norfolkne.gov  

Citizen Advisory Review Committee

3 year terms

Name Address Phone Email Term Expires
Means, Kathie 1002 Eldorado Rd 402-371-3355 kathiemeans@remax.net 10-31-2019
Einspahr, Jan 601 S 13th St 402-371-3140 jeinspahr@cableone.net 10-31-2019
Mangels, James 3111 Golf View Dr 402-371-6743 jmangels@fnni.com 10-31-2019
Morrow, Cindy 1307 N 30th St 402-379-0721 ddcjmorrow@cableone.net 10-31-2019
Otten, Aaron 1624 Hackberry Dr 719-459-0064 aaron@elkhornvalleybank.com 10-31-2019

Civil Service Commission

The Commission is composed of three persons appointed by the Mayor for six-year terms. Members are vested with the responsibility to recruit, examine competitively and recommend to the hiring authority the appointment, employment and promotion of sworn police and fire personnel. The Commission also serves as an appeal board for all disciplinary action involving police and fire. Current commission members are:

Name Address Phone Email Term Expires
 Braun, Beverly 409 Pierce St 402-379-9837 (H)
402-371-3146 (O)
bev@michaelsphotog.com 04-2022
 Curran, John J 2806 Dover Dr 402-649-1535 currannrc@hotmail.com 06-2021
 Schmitt, John 601 S Boxelder 402-750-4227 (H)
402-370-3437 (O)
john.schmitt@nebraska.gov  12-2023

Fire Code Appeals Board

The appeals board will hear and decide appeals of orders, decisions or determinations made by the fire code official relative to the application and interpretation of the code. The board of appeals shall consist of members who are qualified by experience and training to pass on matters pertaining to hazards of fire, explosions, hazardous conditions or fire protection systems and are not employees of the jurisdiction. The Fire Code Board of Appeals shall consist of 5 members and 1 alternate person.

Name Address Phone Email Term Expires
 Burns, Shane 1102 W Prospect Ave 402-371-7372 shane.burns@sappbros.net 2-2020
 Grimes, Johns 1216 W Nebraska Ave 402-370-1502 john.grimes@awginc.com 2-2024
 Joy, Mike 610 Magnet St 402-649-7020 firemanjoy@hotmail.com 2-2021
 Sears, Mark 401 Ridgeway Dr 402-644-7655 msears@frhs.org 2-2023
Swanson, Les 904 Koenigstein Ave 605-595-3498 lswanson@conpoint.com 2-2022
Zaruba, Scott (alternate) 2801 Ruthann Cir 402-371-7195 scott.zaruba@blackhillscorp.com 2-2024
Jen Olson (Secretary) 309 N 5th St 402-844-2065 jolson@norfolkne.gov  

Housing Authority Board

The Norfolk Housing Authority (NHA) Board consists of five members. Each member is appointed a five-year term in office. Two members of the Council serve as ex officio commissioners on the board. In addition to providing rental assistance for low-income persons, families and handicapped individuals, the Housing Authority Board supervises Boulevard Village, located northwest of Benjamin Avenue. The Board operates with the private sector, assisting local landlords who offer low-income housing. Current board members are:

Name Address Phone Email Term Expires
Geyer, Norman 3102 Mach I Dr 402-851-1390 cngeyer@cableone.net 6-2022
Knapp, Justine 301 Broadmoor Dr 402-992-1542 justinemundorf@gmail.com 6-2021
Higginbotham Jr, Thomas, Chair 111 S 1st St 402-379-1150 thomash@nenedd.org 6-2024
Buss, Kendra 55271 836 rd 402-841-3378 kbuss@agri-city.com 6-2023
Svendsen, Carol 1121 McIntosh Rd, #105 402-640-8564 no email 6-2024
Murren, Thad, Vice-Chair 600 E Bluff Ave 402-379-9512 tmurren@norfolkne.gov 6-2020
Rizzo, Diana, Sec/Treas 111 W Sycamore Ave 402-844-7890 Diana.rizzo@unmc.edu 6-2020
Danielle Myers-Noelle, City Attorney 202 N 7th St 402-644-8732 dnoelle@norfolkne.gov  

Library Advisory Board

The Library Advisory Board consists of five members. Each member is appointed for a five year term. The Board members are appointed by the Mayor and approved by the City Council. The Library Advisory Board advises the Mayor and City Council in regard to the operation, maintenance, and development of the public library. Current board members are:

Name Address Phone Email Term Expires
Bogner, Kurt 1630 Hackberry Dr 402-750-1253 kurt.bogner@nucor.com 7-2020
Burns, Sue 103 N 18th St 402-371-9530 gottmine@hotmail.com 7-2021
Colligan, Susan 1000 Kelland Dr 402-379-5601 scolligan@clnorfolk.org 7-2024
Curry, Jim 2604 W Maple Ave 402-379-4046 jcurry@cableone.net 7-2022
Dover, Jr., Tom 2201 Skyline Dr 402-371-6760 thomasdoverjr@doversite.com 7-2020

Planning Commission

The Norfolk Planning Commission consists of nine members appointed by the Mayor with the approval of 3/4 of the City Council and serve for three years. Two such members may be residents of the two-mile extraterritorial zoning jurisdiction. The Commission evaluates information from staff and testimony in hearings, and makes recommendations to guide Council action. Commissioners make recommendations only. The Commission and City Council work with a Comprehensive Plan as a guideline for the growth of the City and its jurisdiction. Meetings, which may include public hearings, are held the Tuesday following the City Council meeting, 7:30 a.m. at the City Council Chambers. All meetings are advertised and open to the public. Current commission members are:

Name Address Phone Email Term Expires
Arens, Frank 1104 N 27th St 402-750-6098 fcarens@telebeep.com 2-2019
Waite, Dirk 2101 Sheridan Dr 605-380-6147 dcwaite23@gmail.com 2-2021
Gilmore, Matt 1406 Channel Rd 402-841-2039 mandmgilmore@msn.com 2-2020
Griffith, Martin 408 S 4th St 402-379-2196 magriffith@cableone.com 2-2019
Gangwer, Zack 617 N 18th St 402-844-8158 zackarygangwer@gmail.com 2-2021
Deets, Kyle 1105 Westbrook Dr 402-750-2944 kmd@deetshomestore.com 2-2021
Thone, Jacob 800 Woodcrest Dr 402-316-9701 jakethone@hotmail.com 2-2020
Hammond, Mary 2304 Random Rd 402-992-2211 marymerritthammond@gmailcom 2-2020
Spray, Dan 1005 Woodcrest St 402-750-7072 dan.spray@gmail.com 2-2019
Olson, Jen
Planning Commission Secretary
309 N 5th St 402-844-2065 jolson@norfolkne.gov  

Plumbing Board

The Plumbing Board, appointed by the Mayor and City Council, consists of the following five members; the City plumbing inspector, the City health inspector, a master plumber, a journeyman plumber and one citizen. The health and plumbing inspectors serve during the term of the Mayor. The other three board members serve three-year terms. The board has the power to adopt rules and regulations for the sanitary construction, alteration and inspection of plumbing and sewer connections in Norfolk, and conducts examinations and approves permits for people who apply to do business as plumbers in Norfolk. Current board members are:

Name Address Phone Email Term Expires
Swanson, Les Chairman 904 Koenigstein Ave 402-379-1915 lswanson@conpoint.com 8-2022
Volkman, Aaron 211 S 3rd St 402-371-0316 vphavolkman@conpoint.com 8-2021
Wolff, Brant, Vice-Chairman 404 E Maple Ave 402-992-1348 pettittplumbing@telebeep.com 8-2020
         
City Staff Members - term of mayor        
 Kouba, John 1702 Sheridan 402-379-2270 jkouba@norfolkne.gov  
 Serres, Paul 109 Valley View Dr 402-640-3456 pserres@norfolkne.gov  

Property Tax Compliance Review Committee

Members are appointed by the Mayor, with approval of the City Council, and serve a three-year term. One member of the Committee is from the City at-large and one member from each of the City's four election wards. One member of the Committee shall be a Certified Public Accountant. The purpose of the Sales Tax Compliance Review Committee is to review the City's annual fiscal budget for compliance with the provisions of Ordinance No. 3257, passed and approved on Oct. 15, 1984, which provided for a self-imposed budget limitation on spending upon the governing body of the City of Norfolk. The Committee, after review of the annual fiscal budget, is to report their findings to the Mayor and City Council and citizens of the City prior to the adoption of the City's annual fiscal budget each year. Current committee members are:

Name Address Phone Email Term Expires
Albin, Mark D 604 Summit St 402-371-9259 mark@albinlaw.com 8-2020
Gray, Chris 1704 E Sycamore Ave 402-851-0727 cgray@fsbdodge.com 8-2020
Hamm, David 1220 W Benjamin Ave
PO Box 2031
402-644-8308 dwhamm@kdsi.net 8-2020
Putters, Jay 701 E Bluff Ave 402-371-5520 jayputters43@gmail.com 8-2020
Williams, Scott 1111 W Nebraska Ave 402-371-8020 scott@insuranceassociates.biz 8-2020

Riverfront Overlay Review Board

The Riverfront Overlay Review Board consists of five members appointed by the Mayor and approved by the Council, and serve a three-year term. The City Planner is a non-voting ex officio member and acts as secretary to the Board. The Riverfront Overlay Review Board renders decisions only on plans for those properties within the official North Fork of the Elkhorn River Overlay District Map. The Riverfront Overlay Review Board meetings are held on the 2nd Monday of the month, only when a submittal has been made in the timeframe described in Norfolk City Code. Current board members are:

Name Address Phone Email Term Expires
With, Jan 106 N Cottonwood St 402.371.0707 jan_with@yahoo.com 1-31-2019
Reiser, Rachel 1519 N 30th St 402.730.3269 rreiser@ymail.com 1-31-2020
Smith, Melanie 1605 W Norfolk Ave 402.649.5930 melrosesmith06@gmail.com 1-31-2020
Love, Brad 108 W Norfolk Ave  #2 402.917.4674 bradl@lovesignco.com 1-31-2021
Novacek, Darrel 1301 Eldorado Rd 402.371.9350 info@courtesyfordnorfolk.com 1-31-2021
McDonald, Joyce 1005 N 3rd St 402.379.1524 mcdonaldjoy@conpoint.com 1-31-2022
Steiner, Zach 605 Adare Rd 402.841.1341 zsteiner123@gmail.com 1-31-2020

Trail Advisory Board

There are five voting members on this board - one from each ward and one from the extraterritorial zoning jurisdiction. The City park superintendent and a Lower Elkhorn Natural Resources District member also serve on the board. The voting members have three-year terms. Responsibilities include advising the Mayor and City Council in development and implementation of trail policies, encourage public usage of the trail system, assist in applying for trail grants and fundraising, and make recommendation for trail projects. Current board members are:

Name Address Phone Email Term Expires
Downey, Jon
(Ward 2)
2606 W Prospect Ave 402-316-4917 jon.m.downey@gmail.com 9-2021
Cleveland, Nick
(extra territorial zoning jurisdiction)
1207 Crown Rd 402-371-8005 nick@cleveland-bike.com 9-2020
McKeown, Danelle
(Ward 4)
103 S Chestnut St 402-640-5982 danelle@daycos.com 9-2019
Stuthman, Jon (Tony)
(Ward 3)
613 S 9th St 402-316-0157 nforkoutfitting@gmail.com 9-2019
Wilson, Erik
(Ward 1)
905 Westbrook Dr 402-841-7332 erikwilson@npsne.org 9-2021
Pfeil, Dick
(non-voting member)
308 N Birch St 402-640-8211 dpfeil@norfolkne.gov 12-2020

Tree Advisory Board

Members are chosen at-large for a three-year term and appointed by the Mayor, with approval of the City Council, to advise the elected officials and staff on landscaping and tree planting. The board’s duties would be coordinate educational events about the benefits of trees, set up pruning demonstrations, assist with public information handouts, assist in finding and applying for tree planting or landscaping grants, offer input and make recommendations for tree planting and landscaping projects in the city, serve as advocates for tree planting and maintenance, and assist in supplying volunteers for tree and shrub planting projects. Current board members are:

Name Address Phone Email Term Expires
Bender, Gale 903 Wildwood St 402-750-0619 gdbender@cableone.net 9-2020
Hoadley, Shane 606 S 8th St 402-302-4520 shanehoadley1994@gmail.com 9-2021
Roche, Teresa 1639 Hackberry Dr 402-644-8159 roche@telebeep.com 9-2020
Surber, G Tom 2813 Pinnacle Dr 402-371-5723 surbergt@gmail.com 9-2020
Staab, Stan 1607 Eldorado Rd 402-371-8629 stan.staab@northeast.edu 9-2021
Martens, April 819 S 8th St 402-649-2275 aprilannmartens@gmail.com 9-2019
Hammond, Linda 1822 Imperial Rd 402-371-2249 lmhammond@cableone.net 9-2021

Vehicle Parking District Advisory Board

3 year terms

Name Address Phone Email Term Expires
Barnhill, Chad 1000 Wildwood St 402-379-8756 midwestmusic@cableone.net 8-2021
Carney, Pat 109 S 5th St 402-379-5600 pat@carneylawpc.com 8-2022
Geary, Connie 200 W Norfolk Ave 402-379-1820 cgeary@degdaco.com 8-2022
Gordon, Jessica 602 W Norfolk Ave 402-371-8400 Jessica.gordon@bankofthewest.com 8-2020
Love, Brad 108 W Norfolk Ave #204 402-379-2339 bradl@lovesignco.com 8-2020
McNally, Steven 435 W Norfolk Ave 402-371-3176 smcnally@1officesolution.com 8-2021
Porn, Lacey 207 W Norfolk Ave 402-750-3906 lacey.porn@gmail.com 8-2020
Stappert, John 207 W Norfolk Ave 402-851-2428 jstappert@powercomputinginc.com 8-2021
Wapelhorst, James 308 W Norfolk Ave 402-640-5571 james.wapelhorst@nmfn.com 8-2022
Blackman, Lisa (alternate) 83550 552nd Ave 402-379-2917 culil027@telebeep.com 8-2021
Stebbing, Doug (alternate 128 S 5th St #3 402-640-3653 doug.stebbing@gmail.com 8-2021

Vehicle Parking District Loan Advisory Board

Name Address Phone Email Term Expires
Gordon, Jessica 602 W Norfolk Ave 402-371-8400 Jessica.gordon@bankofthewest.com 10-2021 (2nd term)
Buehner, Gary 400 W Braasch Ave 402-316-4703 gary.buehner@greatwesternbank.com 10-2022 (1st term)
Pfeil, Dick 308 N Birch St  402-640-8211 pfeil@norfolkne.gov 10-2022 (2nd term)
Wapelhorst, James 308 W Norfolk Ave  402-640-5571 james.wapelhorst@nmfn.com 10-2019 (1st term)
Murren, Thad 600 E Bluff Ave 402-379-9512 tmurren@norfolkne.gov 10-2019 (2nd term)